palmitoylethanolamide.com.au
HomeResearchTakashi 2022

Comprehensive lipidomics of lupus-prone mice using LC-MS/MS identifies the reduction of palmitoylethanolamide that suppresses TLR9-mediated inflammation

Takashi Ozaki, Naganori Kamiyama, Benjawan Saechue, Yasuhiro Soga, Ryo Gotoh, Tatsuya Nakayama, Chiaki Fukuda, Astri Dewayani, Thanyakorn Chalalai, Shimpei Ariki, Sotaro Ozaka, Akira Sonoda, Haruna Hirose, Yoshiko Gendo, Kaori Noguchi, Nozomi Sachi, Shinya Hidano, Keisuke Maeshima, Koro Gotoh, Takayuki Masaki, Koji Ishii, Yoshio Osada, Hirotaka Shibata, Takashi Kobayashi. Genes Cells. 2022 Jul;27(7):493-504.

Laboratory studyOther animals

Design
Laboratory study
Subjects
Lupus-prone MRL/lpr mice (serum and spleen lipidomics); a mouse macrophage cell line, bone marrow-derived dendritic cells and B cells stimulated with TLR ligands; mice injected with CpG-ODN plus D-galactosamine
Dose used in the study
Palmitoylethanolamide applied to cultured immune cells; dose used in mice not stated
Duration
Not stated in the abstract
What was measured
Serum and splenic palmitoylethanolamide levels by lipidomics; pro-inflammatory cytokine production, including IL-6, in macrophages, dendritic cells and B cells stimulated with TLR ligands; CD86/CD40 expression, IgM production and B-cell proliferation; and mortality and serum IL-6 in mice given CpG-ODN plus D-galactosamine

What the authors reported

This laboratory study found:

  • Palmitoylethanolamide was significantly reduced in serum and spleen of lupus-prone MRL/lpr mice.
  • It suppressed pro-inflammatory cytokine production in macrophages stimulated with several TLR ligands (LPS, peptidoglycan, poly(I:C), imiquimod, CpG-ODN).
  • It inhibited IL-6 mRNA and protein in dendritic cells and B cells stimulated with CpG-ODN, and reduced CD86/CD40 upregulation, IgM production and B-cell proliferation.
  • Treatment reduced mortality and serum IL-6 in mice given CpG-ODN plus D-galactosamine.

Limits of this study

A mouse and cell-line study of lupus-related inflammation; it cannot show effect in people with lupus. Funding and conflicts not stated in the abstract.

Source

PubMed 35485445 · doi:10.1111/gtc.12944

Entry checked against the abstract on PubMed on 2026-09-22. The dose shown is the dose the researchers used. It is not a recommendation. How to read this page.